Disney/Lucasfilm Reveal Official Title To Star Wars: Episode VII

SAN FRANCISCO (CBS SF) – San Francisco-based Lucasfilm and Walt Disney Studios have announced the latest Star Wars film “Episode VII” officially titled “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.” The announcement was tweeted via the film’s Twitter account.

The Star Wars films has been known to have a fanfare around the naming of the titles. In 1983, Episode VI: “Revenge of The Jedi” was retitled “Return of The Jedi” as Lucas’ reasoned that a Jedi does not seek revenge or retribution.

In the sequel “The Empire Strikes Back,” the famous opening crawl sequence first contained the episode marker “Episode V:” while the original 1976 film didn’t. The rest of the sequels followed suit. Eventually, when the re-release of the films hit theaters, “Episode IV: A New Hope” replaced “Star Wars” as the heading of the opening crawl.

The new film’s director, J.J. Abrams recently wrapped up principle photography with the original trilogy actors Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker. The film also stars Max von Sydow, Andy Serkis, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, John Boyega and Daisy Ridley.

“Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens” is scheduled to release in theaters on December 18, 2015.

You May Also Be Interested In These Stories



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From Alice@97.3

S&V Podcasts!
Dedicate A Bay Bridge Light
The Looking Glass

Listen Live