By Bradford Hornsby

With a new season of HBO’s acclaimed series Game Of Thrones ready to start running in early April a question is starting to loom over the show – what happens when the show catches up to the books?

The George R. R. Martin series A Song of Ice and Fire, which the show is based on, has five completed books written over a twenty plus year span beginning with A Game of Thrones (started in 1991, published 1996) and currently ending with 2011’s fifth installment titled A Dance with Dragons. Martin, who serves as co-executive producer and script consultant on the show, has publicly stated that the series will include two more novels titled The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring.

Over a year ago, Martin gave his devoted fans a taste of the next installment by releasing an excerpt on his official website. The chapter from The Winds of Winter is titled “Mercy” and be aware SPOILER ALERT … don’t read if you have not read all five books! Click here for the chapter.

Martin has released a tome every two to five years but has vowed to work on his own timetable, so cross your fingers that a new book is on the way. Until then enjoy the latest trailer for Game of Thrones season 4.

Valar Morghulis


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From Alice@97.3

S&V Podcasts!
Dedicate A Bay Bridge Light
The Looking Glass

Listen Live